Posted by: Kikomatching | May 13, 2012

4 Years in The Land of Smiles and Counting…

Sawadee Krap!

On this day exactly 4 years ago, I went out of my beloved country to take the opportunity of working in the Land of Smiles- Thailand. It was a gamble for myself and my would-be employer.
It was my first time working abroad in an almost 100% Thai environment and I had many questions in my mind back then as to what my future holds in Thailand.

For my employer, as in every employee that is newly hired, they are unable to judge 100%– my capabilities, my personality or even my commitment to working overseas as they’ve never met me personally before I landed in their country, but only knew me through some character references and background checking. However, since my designation is a Management post, it is definitely a gamble for them to accept me.

I would be working in the same company that I used to work for in Manila (Bangkok being another Branch office) so basically the systems and procedures are almost the same except it will be in a Thai setting and I just had to adjust my working style to adapt to Thai culture.

I had actually resigned from the company in Manila for almost a year prior to me accepting the job offer in Bangkok. I worked in a hotel group and was doing quite well if I may say so. One Sunday, I was on duty when my former boss of 7 years (which I also consider as my Mentor) Sir Nikki called me and asked where I am at that time and if he could meet me. There is a sense of urgency in his voice.

I told him I was in the hotel and just about to finish my duty. He drove all the way to the hotel on a weekend and meet up with me. He told me about the opportunity to work in Bangkok.

Naturally I was surprised by what he just told me because I really had no clue as to what his purpose is for meeting me so urgently on a weekend and I did not dare ask him earlier out of courtesy.

Besides, I am doing ok with my current employer at that time and has no plans of resigning too soon as there are a handful of projects I am heading and on the process of seeking approval from my current boss.

I would say the timing is right because at that time, I felt like the projects entrusted to me is progressing slower than I expected. I was used to having the liberty to make decisions quickly in my previous employer though I understand that the current one has to go through a long and tedious process and discussions even the very small details. I sort of felt I was not empowered.

Anyway, I still asked my Mentor what was the offer and how soon I need to fly in case I accepted the job. He told me about the position, the compensation offer and said I had to fly in about a month’s time. Once I make the decision, they have to process all the papers and stuff. It has to be decided quickly as my would-be boss will be on maternity leave for 3 months and I have to help her oversee the company during her absence.

Can u just imagine the shock on my face when I learned about it. Of course I felt flattered that my former boss still remembered me and vouched for my capabilities the reason why he recommended me for that job. I told him I cannot make the decision at that instant and I have to consult my family as it is definitely a big decision to make.

It was almost Holy Week at that time so I had time to contemplate. When I told my parents about it of course they wanted me to stay in the country. There was no member in our family who ever worked overseas so I was the first one to sort of “Explore the world”. After thinking of the big task I had to fill, I told my parents I want to take the challenge and perhaps try working abroad for a few years.

At the end, they supported me even though they still have some hesitations.

Fast forward, I accepted the job offer and  left for Bangkok.

When I saw the city, the people and surrounding it felt like I was still in Manila except that I can’t understand their language or the words written on the signs and billboards.

My mentor accompanied me in Bangkok and formally introduced me to my new boss, Khun Angie who I can say is a pleasant lady even meeting just for the first time. She only had over a week to train me and turnover some of the existing responsibilities. I must admit I was scared and worried if I can do the job well once she takes her maternity leave.

Fortunately, with the grace of God and the help of my supportive colleagues, I was able to do good (I think) until she returned. In the past 4 years I’ve been in Thailand I felt I was not an “alien” because my boss and colleagues are all kind and supportive and treated me as their own and not see me as a foreign Pinoy working in their country. They’ve also helped me grow as a person in terms of having more maturity now, gaining more confidence and having better business sense.

Over the years, I’ve also met  Filipino friends who are working and living in Bangkok like me. It is very hard to be in a foreign land by yourself but I believe my Pinoy friends helped me a lot to overcome home-sickness and in times I need some personal (or psychological?) help. LOL.

There are some who had come and go. Some are now based somewhere or back to the Philippines. Nothing is permanent in this world anyway. However the experiences we shared (whether good or bad) made our bond stronger.

Surely, tomorrow or in the longer future I would meet more new friends and I would welcome that opportunity as well.

I’ve also been to a lot of nice places in Thailand. I still have more places to go and definitely I will seize the opportunity to travel more whenever I can.

4 Years is too long for many, too short for some. As for my case, I now consider Thailand as my second home having stayed here quite long enough. I still don’t know how long I will still be working and living in Bangkok as I don’t know what will happen in the future.

But as the saying goes, Enjoy it while it lasts.

Over the years, I’ve gained some and also lost some but overall I can say I am blessed being here.

Kob Khun Krap Thailand! Looking forward to more great experiences here.

P.S. In the 4 years I’ve been here I think I only can speak the common phrases like “Sawadee Krap” and “Kob Khun Krap” which is a pity. Ha ha ha.

Responses

  1. i just turned 1yr & 6mos today here in the land of smiles and still am counting…^_^
    Love reading your piece; it’s inspiring for someone who is fighting for homesickness…

    keep it up!

    • That’s great to hear. Congrats to you too for the 1 year and 6 months in Thailand. Are you in BKK?

  2. Nice spotting your blog. It’s very inspiring for someone who just came to Thailand and will try his luck too..

    • Thanks Von Viajero. Hope you will have a wonderful time in Thailand.

  3. As your second home, you will surely always have that pinch in your heart that once in your life it became a part of you. :)

    • Yup surely even if I go somewhere else, Thailand would already have a special spot in my heart.

  4. time really flies fast, kiko. parang kelan lang nung pumunta ka jan at ngayon 4 years na. pareho pala tayo kakaunti lang alam kong chinese words pero mas malalala ako kasi 11 yrs na ko dito. hehe. di lang siguro talaga ako intresado sa salita nila.

    kahit saan naman tayo mapadpad madali tayo maka-adapt. kahit iba ang salita o culture, we would definitely fit in. ganyan ka-global ang pinoy.. hehe..

    still planning to stay long there?
    hmm.. namimiss ko na naman ang tom yum.. hehe

    • Salamat sa pagbisita ulet Mrs. GBP. Well di ko masabi kung hanggang kailan pero nandito kasi ang opportunity sa ngayon. Ika nga Strike while the iron is hot. Pero d ko pa rin masasabi.

      • you lasted 4 years ibig sabihin nagustuhan mo dni jan. if you’re thinking to move around, you can try Singapore, too, malapit lang din sa tin and competitive as well. good luck sa mga future plans mo, kiko..

      • Oo ok naman sa Bangkok. Ang gusto ko dito bukod sa mababait karamihan ng Thais, mas mura ang cost of living dito. Definitely if mag isip ako na mag lipat ng bansa dito sa Asya, Singapore ang no. 1. Bukod sa marami akong kaibigan dyan gusto ko un pagiging organized at malinis nila. Mahal lang talaga ang halos lahat ng bagay. Yun rent ko sa flat dito sa Bangkok siguro x3 ang halaga dyan may ka share pa.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

