Anything for Love

Last Sunday, I went to the Christening of my godson, Matt Justin. It was held in Holy Redeemer Church on a scorching hot afternoon. After the ceremony, we all troop to the reception area –the very luxurious Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok located at the banks of Chao Phraya River.

It was actually a dual celebration. Apart from Justin’s Baptism, it was the family’s only little girl, Claire (Justin’s sister) celebrating her 7th Birthday on that day. Traditionally speaking, the 7th birthday of a child is always celebrated in a somewhat grand style because it symbolizes that upon reaching that age, the child has more or less a mind of its own and starting his or her early years of schooling.

The affair was an intimate one attended by approximately 30 guests mostly relatives, family friends and colleagues of Mike and Sharon- the very proud parents that day.

The kids in attendance was a great sight to see as they put on princes and princesses costumes like in a mini dance ball. They walked inside the room in pairs and its so nice to see babies as young as probably 2 years old actually enjoying what they are doing.

Then the fairest of them all entered the room. It’s Claire dressed in a Pink Gown with a tiara in her head and a rose in her hand.

The programme continued with the kids strutting their stuff out as they danced to everyone’s delight. Really, kids these days are so full of talent.

While we eat a sumptuous buffet lunch, Mike flashed a slide presentation in the LCD screen of Claire since she was a baby, highlighting all the places that the family had been to as well as the memorable events they shared with friends. Maybe they realized time really flew so fast.

Then there were games and numerous photo opportunities and a lot of drinking!

It was indeed a memorable event especially for Claire. As I head back home, I realized a parent would really go all out just to make their kids happy-and at all cost. I mean, hosting a party in a 5 Star Hotel would eat up a big sum of money. Apart from that, everyone in their family really prepared with all the costumes, dance number and presentations days before the event. Despite all these, at the end of the day if their objectives are met- that is making their children happy and satisfied then all the troubles and cost-cutting is nothing.

I am now thinking what kind of a Dad would I become? I know this title entails a great responsibility. If and when that time comes, I know I would be a good one. I’ve been a good son (as far as my standards are concerned, ha ha ha!) so I know I will be a great Dad soon!

Enjoy the rest of your week!

2 thoughts on “Anything for Love

  1. Hi Pope, thanks for the kind comments . Yes, I love blogging and sharing my thoughts to the readers of my blog. I regret not having enough time to blog recently however, I will try to do as often as I can in the coming days. I am inspired by the messages I receive (though not many still ha ha ha since I consider myself still a baby blogger) and will continue to be inspired.

    Keep on reading..

  2. As I was reading along the lines and from your previous post, I am sure you have the making of a great Dad, you have displayed love and compassion on kids like your pamangkins.

    I love the way you put your thoughts in a blog, you are indeed a real blogger.

    A blessed weekend my friend.

Leave a Reply

