Making the most out of adversities…

sick

Last night, I write in my blog that I had a full drink of Iced Tea and ironed my clothes for a week’s work. Unfortunately, I woke up this morning having fever and runny nose so I am unable to go to work. Actually, I feel I’m going to have fever since yesterday morning when I woke up. But towards lunchtime, I feel a bit better so I did my usual routine without bothering my impending flu.

Surely, independence have its own advantages and disadvantages. However, living in a foreign city with no family to take care and just few friends which have a life and work of their own as well, you will realize living alone is not totally appealing as it looks.

I checked my handphone to find the phone number of the restaurant downstairs so I can just order some decent food for breakfast, and perhaps lunch. Sadly, I cannot find it. I thought I stored it earlier and now the small paper where I wrote down the phone number is gone. Damn..

Since I have no energy to cook a full meal plus the fact that I have no food stock (which I mentioned in my post yesterday), I had no other choice but to open a can of sardines (totally unappealing and unappetizing for someone who is on the verge of catching a flu). Well, I don’t have a choice.

I opened my notebook to check e-mails and try to open Facebook for entertainment. Unfortunately (again) my internet connection is not cooperating. I tried calling the supposed call center but no answer. Well, actually even if I call I will surely get the same answer– that is their server says my connection is working well and I just need to restart my computer. If this is the standard answer they reply to all customers, I suppose they don’t need to hire a person to answer the call but just play an answering machine over and over again. Damm (again).

Seems I am really having a bad day today. Well, not for long. As I plan to have lunch, I realized I still had some okra (lady finger) in my vegetable bin which I used when I prepared pinakbet last week. What I did was boil water and pour into the thin vegetable..and walah..I got a superb lunch.

I had not eaten boiled okra dipped with shrimp paste locally known as “alamang” for I think centuries now and this is such a great way to actually enjoy lunch even when you have no appetite for food. I finished my dish full and satisfied. Indeed I am making the most out of today’s adversities.

Only thing is, I have to think (again) of a good food for dinner..damn. I hate thinking.

Leave a Reply

