I am my own BRAND

Many aspects of our lives is all about brands. We buy signature clothes to make us feel more confident and look  better. Surely there are many cheap but comfortable and nice looking clothes but in terms of durability, I still go for the branded ones. I am definitely a Lacoste and Nike fan. I’ve already spent thousands in shoes and shirts bearing these brands and I don’t have any regret cos the items are not only nice and trendy looking but lasts long and do not go out of style. I am not too much into the latest gadget but if I do buy one, I also go for a good brand. I have my iPod Touch now for almost 2 years and it served me very well especially during gym workouts and long travels. I am sure had I bought a lower kind of player, it is broken now (prior to my iPod, I had a China-made mp3 player which I was only able to use for few months which is also not too cheap if I may say).

Why am I talking all about Brands? This is in relation to the topic that has caught my interest lately- – Personal branding.

Yesterday, I finished preparing my topic for our in-house Train the Trainer session in the office. I will be talking about what else, “Developing Personal Brand for Supervisors”. My audience are Supervisors from various departments in the office. Well you may ask why I chose this topic. I claim I am not a guru about personal branding however, I find it necessary for the supervisors to find their niche in the organization.

Oftentimes, I feel Supervisors (in general) find it difficult to draw the line between having the management responsibility and being able to jibe with the staff or colleagues. In most cases especially in small or middle sized organization it is still the Manager or the Head of the Department who decides on day to day operation which should not be the case at all times because there are supervisors around. It’s all about empowerment. On the part of the supervisors, they have to evolve and come out of the shadows of their managers.

Personal branding by definition is the public’s expression or projection of an individual’s characteristics, identity, personality, skills and talent. It is how others perceive you  based on various factors. It doesn’t always mean that whatever the perception of others about you is the real you. However, you can always find ways for others to have positive perception about you.

To improve your personal branding, the gurus suggested you improve your profile. Online you can do it by having your own Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter or blogsite (WordPress and others). This is where you build your network and in turn can potentially help you in your business or career. It is the fastest way for you to be seen and get well-known. So far, I have all of these accounts but yet sign up with LinkedIn. Will explore very soon. Only thing about these social network is that you have to spend time in updating it to make YOU more interesting. Lately, I am unable to update my blog as I am super busy with my work. My creative juices are all squeezed so I cannot think of an interesting topic lately. To those who regularly visit my blog, I’m sorry for the hiatus. Will try to update it more often.

Developing your Personal brand also entails some investment and improvement in personal appearance. I’m not saying you have to undergo plastic surgery but always try to look good and dress smartly whenever necessary. In order to standout in a big crowd, you have to be visually appealing at the first glance. Despite a lot of work-related stress, you MUST not be seen in public like someone who had just been inside the hurricane’s eye. Even men has to dress up. Don’t be afraid to look in the mirror.

Personal Brand is not only the superficial aspects. You must also work out to improve your skills and talents. Attend seminars and classes that suits your interests. If you are sent by your company to a seminar whether it is a free or paid seminar, maximize the learning and apply it to your work or everyday life whenever you can.

A good brand must also have the right attitude. Positivity must radiate in you at all times. I always love to work with a person with less complications. If I hear more whining than sensible suggestions, I would definitely resent working next time with that person. I guess most of us would feel the same.

In my presentation, I suggested the supervisors to have good attitude towards their colleagues and their superiors. They must learn to respect so they will likewise be respected.

Why does Coca-Cola and Tide survived many generations and stiff competition? Because they are good brands…and they are here to stay…

You can be your own Coke and Tide. You can be your own BRAND.

One thought on “I am my own BRAND

  1. i totally agree. everyone can make his own brand. something people would remember or associate you with. like being soft-spoken or kind-hearted or someone flushing a sweet smile or a contagious giggle everytime. that’s the impression you instill in people’s minds, and that’s something you have to be cautious about. it’s not just about the clothes or shoes you wear, it’s mostly about your personality and your attitude that bring about those lasting impressions to others which eventually become your own brands.

    nice insights, kiko. ingats!🙂

Leave a Reply

