Magnum Mystery…

I was really intrigued by all these Magnum craze hitting the Philippines it seems like “Bungang Araw” seriously hitting the backs of children who are seemingly unaware of the heat of the summer sun.

I learned about this brouhaha from some Facebook friends who would proudly post about their first bite of this “glorious” Ice Cream or some rewarding themselves a piece after a long hard day at work.

Then I read in Twitter about celebrities promoting Magnum Ice Cream. Looks like this sweet is really toppling the old-fashioned but always reliable summer heat fighter Halo-Halo.

I’ve first tasted Magnum last year here in Bangkok. Not sure though how long ago it was introduced in the Thai Market but it seems Thais are not as ecstatic as their Filipino counterpart in trooping the stores to buy Magnum. For one, it is a bit pricey (around THB 40 or a little over 50 Pesos per piece) compared to other Thai desserts like the similarly refreshing Nam Kang Sai Sala (Shaved Ice with Sala Syrup) which is only THB 10 per bowl usually sold on the streets and you can even select some toppings.

I actually commend the Marketing minds behind the Magnum Craze as they were successful in making this dessert very in demand. I heard that some people have to go through several 7-11 shops just to find Magnum as many shops had it sold out.

Since I already forget how Magnum tastes like, I asked my friend to buy some from the nearest convenience store so we could indulge this most-sought after dessert.

Verdict: After tasting Magnum Almond, I find the Ice Cream too sweet and I can’t find any bit of almond in the bar.

I have nothing against people who go crazy with Magnum but personally I would still prefer Pinipig Crunch, Twin Popsies or even the traditional Ice Buko with Red Beans.

You may also try Ice Monster which is a healthier alternative as you can select fruits as toppings.

Leave a comment